Personalized Learning

About the Personalized Learning Department

The Personalized Learning Department, part of the Instructional Support Services (ISS), provides support for students with a variety of identified disabilities. Services range from self-contained core academic classes (Personalized Learning students only) to co-taught general education classes to resource labs to consultative services. The level of service each student receives depends on his/her individual needs as prescribed by his/her current, active IEP (Individualized Education Program). In addition, post-secondary preparation services are provided. Our Personalized Learning Department consists of learning specialists, an Affective Needs Program and SSN program, a speech/language pathologist,  a school psychologist, social workers and several educational assistants. These specialists work together, along with general education teachers, counselors, and administrators, to provide students on an IEP with a positive and appropriate high school experience. The case managers, the mental health professionals, and the Personalized Learning Department Chair are available to the entire Ponderosa community to address questions and concerns.


Personalized Learning Staff  


Trent Carpenter

Trent Carpenter
Personalized Learning Teacher
tcarpenter@dcsdk12.org 




Jeremy Dorr

Jeremy Dorr
Personalized Learning Teacher
jdorr1@dcsdk12.org

 

Heather GoodrichHeather Goodrich
Personalized Learning Teacher
heather.goodrich@dcsdk12.org

Bethany HalpinBethany Halpin
Psychologist
bethany.halpin@dcsdk12.org

Katherine KitselmanKatherine Kitselman
Affective NeedsTeacher
kkitselman@dcsdk12.org

Rachel Nordstrom

Rachel Nordstrom

rnordstrom@dcsdk12.org


Rebecca Patterson
Rebecca Patterson
Speech Language Pathologist

Kelsey Parisi
Kelsey Parisi
Severe Needs Teacher
kparisi1@dcsdk12.org

PHS Placeholder


Laurie Penzenstadler
Gifted & Talented
laurie.penzenstadler@dcsdk12.org

ReasonerHeidi Reasoner
IAS
hmartinsonreasoner@dcsdk12.org

Gretchen ReeseGretchen Reese
Affective Needs Teacher
GRETCHEN.REECE1@dcsdk12.org

Kate Noon-UlviaKate Noon-Ulvia
ESL Teacher
kate.noonulvila@dcsdk12.org

Lindsey SaulsLindsey Sauls
Severe Needs Teacher
lsauls@dcsdk12.org

 

Lynn TrollopeLynn Trollope
Moderate Needs Teacher
Department Chair
lynn.trollope@dcsdk12.org
Website


Laura Wilson
Laura Wilson
AN Social Worker
lwilson3@dcsdk12.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District's Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Aaron Henderson, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado, complianceofficer@dcsdk12.org, 720-433-1083.

Outside Agencies

Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.