Personalized Learning

About the Personalized Learning Department

The Personalized Learning Department, also called Instructional Support Services (ISS), provides support for students with a variety of identified disabilities. Services range from self-contained core academic classes (Personalized Learning students only) to co-taught general education classes to resource labs to consultative services. The level of service each student receives depends on his/her individual needs as prescribed by his/her current, active IEP (Individualized Education Program). In addition, post-secondary preparation services are provided. Personalized Learning staff consists of learning specialists, a speech/language pathologist, a job coach, a school psychologist, and several educational assistants. These specialists work together, along with general education teachers, counselors, and administrators, to provide students on an IEP with a positive and appropriate high school experience. The case managers, the mental health professionals, and the Personalized Learning Department Chair are available to the entire Ponderosa community to address questions and concerns.





Resources:

READ 180

Personalized Learning Staff

Andee AhrensAndee Ahrens
Department Chair
IEP and Assessment Specialist
andee.ahrens@dcsdk12.org

Nicole BelangerNicole Belanger
Speech Language Pathologist
nicole.belanger@dcsdk12.org

PHS PlaceholderJeremy Dorr
Personalized Learning Teacher
jdorr1@dcsdk12.org

Allison FabrizioAllison Fabrizio
Severe Needs Teacher
alfabrizio@dcsdk12.org
303.387.0770 x64076

Heather GoodrichHeather Goodrich
Personalized Learning Teacher
heather.goodrich@dcsdk12.org

Bethany HalpinBethany Halpin
Psychologist
bethany.halpin@dcsdk12.org

Katherine KitselmanKatherine Kitselman
Affective NeedsTeacher
kkitselman@dcsdk12.org

Tiffany KoenenTiffany Koenen
Social Worker
tdkoenen@dcsdk12.org

PHS PlaceholderAndrea Leesinger
Social Worker
andrea.leisinger@dcsdk12.org

Julie LopezJulie Lopez
Personalized Learning Teacher
julie.lopez@dcsdk12.org

PHS PlaceholderLaurie Penzenstadler
Gifted & Talented
laurie.penzenstadler@dcsdk12.org

PHS PlaceholderKate Noon-Ulvia
ESL Teacher
kate.noonulvila@dcsdk12.org

PHS PlaceholderLindsey Sauls
Severe Needs Teacher
lsauls@dcsdk12.org

Elaine StreeterElaine Streeter
Personalized Learning Secretary
elaine.streeter@dcsdk12.org

Lynn TrollopeLynn Trollope
Moderate Needs Teacher
lynn.trollope@dcsdk12.org
Website

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

Douglas County School District Nondiscrimination Notice: In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District’s Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Ted Knight, Assistant Superintendent, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado, complianceofficer@dcsdk12.org, 303-387-0067. Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.